Frequently Asked Questions for Private Investigator and Security Guard Licensing Board



Download 8.12 Kb.
Date conversion28.01.2017
Size8.12 Kb.
Frequently Asked Questions for Private Investigator and Security Guard Licensing Board

Frequently Asked Questions for Private Investigator and Security Guard Licensing Board

How do I apply for a Private Investigator firm license?

How do I apply for a Security Guard firm license?

What are the licensing requirements Private Investigator firm licenses?

What are the licensing requirements Security Guard firm licenses?

What is the licensing fee?

What are the requirements for an out-of-state company?

What is a "resident license"?

Does holding a valid Private Investigator or Security Guard authorize me to carry a handgun or weapon?

Does holding a valid private detective license authorize me to arrest an individual?

When does the Board meet?




Question: How do I apply for a Private Investigator firm license?

Answer: You may obtain an application by contacting our office by telephone at (317) 234-3040, by email at pla11@pla.in.gov or you may stop by our office located at 402 West Washington Street, Room W072, Indianapolis, Indiana 46204.


Question: How do I apply for a Security Guard firm license?

Answer: You may obtain an application by contacting our office by telephone at (317) 234-3040, by email at pla11@pla.in.gov or you may stop by our office located at 402 West Washington Street, Room W072, Indianapolis, Indiana 46204.



Question: What are the licensing requirements?
Answer: The applicant must meet the minimum requirements of being at least twenty-one years of age, be a resident of Indiana for at least one year, and have at least two years of work experience in the field of investigations or a four year degree in criminal justice. Please also see 862 IAC 1-1-3.


Question: What is the licensing fee?
Answer: The fee for issuance or renewal of a private detective license is $150.00. The fee for reinstatement of a delinquent license is $50.00.


Question: What are the requirements for an out-of-state company?
Answer: The minimum requirements are as follows:

1. Twenty-one years of age;


2. Two years work experience in the field of investigations or a 4 year degree in criminal law.

3. Have a resident licensee.




Question:
Answer:
Question: Does holding a valid private detective license authorize me to carry a handgun or weapon?
Answer: Nothing in the statute and rules shall be construed to authorize any licensee to carry any weapon.


Question: Does holding a valid private detective license authorize me to arrest an individual?
Answer: A private detective or an authorized employee of a private detective or security company has no arresting authority. Only a law enforcement officer/official may arrest an individual.


Question: When does the board meet?
Answer: The board meets every third Thursday of every other month. Please note that this schedule may change without notice.


The database is protected by copyright ©ininet.org 2016
send message

    Main page