Sri Ganapati is the elephant headed son of Sri Shiva, belonging to the divine family that delivers the soul from darkness and sin, the specific function of Sri Ganapati is to teach and drive away ignorance (avidhya)

Relationship of Nakshatra padas and Navamsa

Download 222.5 Kb.
Size222.5 Kb.
1   2   3   4
Relationship of Nakshatra padas and Navamsa

I have already mentioned that each Nakshatra is divided into 4 padas and the pada has a characteristic of the sign of the zodiac which starts from Mesha. If you take 3 nakshatras you get 12 padas (3 x 4) which can be equated to the 12 rasis.

However each rasi has been assigned only 2¼ Nakshatras or 9 padas only. So counting from Mesha the 9th sign falls in Dhanus. So the next Nakshatra pada should automatically start from Makara. Count 9 signs from Makara to end up in Kanya. The next Nakshatra pada should start from Thula. Similarly counting from Thula the 9th sign falls in Mithuna and naturally the next Nakshatra pada will begin from Karka. So the order of beginning is Mesha, Makara, Thula and Karka which tallies with the basic principle laid down in scriptures and as explained above.

To make matters simple I will conclude that the signs of padas and the Navamsa signs are the same.

Now let us examine the sample calculation made above according to this new rule:

Mercury is in 150 25’ in Kanya. The Nakshatra is Hasta-2nd pada. Count the padas from Ashwini to Hasta – 2nd. Ashiwini to Uttaraphalguni it is 12 Nakshatras or 12 x 4 = 48 pada. Add 2 padas of hasta and the total pada is 50. For the 12 rasis we are allotting 12 padas. Hence 4 x 12 = 48 padas gets allotted to all the 12 rasis. 2 padas remain – starting from Mesha the 2nd rasi will be Vrishabha which gets the 50th pada. So Mercury will be in Vrishabha in the Navamsa Chart which tallies with our principle stated earlier.

Let us take the 2nd example also. Mars is in Karka 240 10’. The Nakshatra is Aslesha – 3rd pada. From Ashwini till pushyam 8 Nakshatras or 32 padas are there. Adding the 3 padas of Aslesha we get 35 padas. Staring from Mesha allot each pada and you will end up in Kumbha as the 35th pada. This is what we have arrived at earlier.

To complete this calculation you must definitely require the Nakshatra and the pada in which the planet is placed or the longitude of the planet.

I give below a table containing all the 108 Navamsas for all Nakshatra Padas:

The purpose of this table is if you know the longitude of a planet without the sign name and nakashatra pada you can find the Rasi, Nakshatra, Pada and navamsa of the planet by looking at the cumulative longitude column. If you know the Rasi and the Longitude then select Rasi column and Longitude column and note the Nakshatra, Pada and navamsa.

Download 222.5 Kb.

Share with your friends:
1   2   3   4

The database is protected by copyright © 2020
send message

    Main page