Spotlight on Winds

Download 4.73 Kb.
Size4.73 Kb.
Atlanta Chamber Players perform “Spotlight on Winds”
The Atlanta Chamber Players return to the Ahavath Achim Synagogue this season for the "Chamber Music in Sacred Spaces: Spotlight on Winds" concert, on Sunday, November 15th, 2009 at 3:00 p.m.
The program leads off with Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's graceful C Major Quartet for Flute & Strings and will spotlight ASO principal flutist Christina Smith. This attractive and appealing work was composed in 1778 for a wealthy Dutch amateur flutist. Charles Martin Loeffler's gorgeous, Impressionistic "The Bagpipe" with oboe, viola and piano, will spotlight ASO principal oboist Elizabeth Koch. German composer Loeffler immigrated to America in 1881, joining the newly formed Boston Symphony Orchestra as a violist. The Bagpipe (from Deux Rhapsodies) was finished in 1905 and dedicated to the memory of the BSO's clarinetist, Leon Porteau, with whom Loeffler had originally intended to perform them. Baroque master Georg Philipp Telemann's Quartet Sonata in G Major from Tafelmusik (flute, oboe, violin, continuo) is a lyrical and lively showpiece for the winds and violin. Telemann was one of the most prominent and prolific musicians of his time. The Tafelmusik or Musique de Table was so called because the music was to be performed while the household was at table, dining or feasting. The program concludes with Dmitri Shostakovich's 1944 Piano Trio in E Minor, considered one of the greatest musical works from the World War II era. This profoundly moving work combines mystery and pathos with war machine rhythms and Jewish melodies--at the time when news of the Holocaust was just beginning to surface. This piece was a lamentation both for Shostakovish's close friend, Ivan Sollertinsky, and the victims of the Holocaust.
Musicians performing will include Paula Peace, piano and Artistic Director; Christina Smith, flute; Elizabeth Koch, oboe; Justin Bruns, violin; Catherine Lynn, viola; and Brad Ritchie, cello. The Atlanta Chamber Players, a mixed ensemble including top Atlanta Symphony Orchestra musicians, offer an innovative season of artistically excellent chamber music including beloved classics, exciting contemporary works, and commissioned pieces.
Ticket Information:

Adult $20, Student with ID $10. Discounted subscription packages and single tickets:

Available at
Free parking is available at the Ahavath Achim Synagogue:

600 Peachtree Battle Road, NW Atlanta (at Northside Parkway).

Share with your friends:

The database is protected by copyright © 2019
send message

    Main page