Draft not for release

Download 30.38 Kb.
Size30.38 Kb.


Great People. Great Places. Extraordinary Opportunities.


September 6, 2017

Contact: Drew Dickerson

(O) 757-706-3058


Atlantic 10 Men’s Basketball Schedule Features League-Wide TV Coverage, 117 National Appearances

ESPN, CBS Sports, NBCSN, Combine to Air A-10 Basketball for Fifth Straight Year

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. – The Atlantic 10 Conference announced its 2017-18 men’s basketball schedule Wednesday, which features 117 total national television appearances, across the league’s three media partners: ESPN, CBS Sports Network, and NBCSN.
The 2017-18 conference schedule tips off on Saturday, Dec. 30 with all 14 teams in action. Through the course of league play, there will be 50 televised games, in addition to 14 televised non-conference games as part of the A-10 package. Each of the league’s 14 teams will make at least four appearances on national television, and there are two weekends where every A-10 game will be televised; the weekend of Jan. 12-14 and Jan. 27-28.
Additionally, 11 games of the 2018 Atlantic 10 Men’s Basketball Championship at Capital One Arena in Washington, D.C., will be nationally televised. NBCSN will carry the second round and the quarterfinals, March 8-9, and CBS Sports Network will air the semifinal games on March 10. CBS Sports will broadcast the March 11 final on network television for the ninth straight year as part of Selection Sunday coverage.
“We have a robust conference and non-conference schedule which will be highlighted through the A-10’s national coverage by our media partners ESPN, CBS Sports Network and NBCSN. Our three media partners provide us with opportunities to showcase the talent and high-quality basketball programs that are synonymous with the Atlantic 10 Conference,” stated Commissioner Bernadette V. McGlade. “It’s important to acknowledge the great work and commitment displayed by our A-10 coaches and student-athletes, academically and athletically, and we appreciate the way our games are produced and delivered through traditional TV, digital technology and social media to the fans, alumni and nation.”
ESPN and the Atlantic 10 will once again present A-10 Friday Night Showcase, featuring seven Friday primetime games, six of which will be during conference play. The six league games, which begin with VCU at Dayton on Jan. 12, will air from five different Atlantic 10 campuses through Feb. 23. In total, there will be 14 regular season games across ESPN networks, highlighted by eight conference matchups. ESPN will televise the Rhode Island at VCU championship rematch on Feb. 2. All A-10 games across ESPN networks will also be streamed via the ESPN app.
CBS Sports Network will carry 27 games, including 21 conference contests, four non-conference games and the two championship semifinals. For the fourth straight year, CBS Sports Network will also produce four A-10 dedicated episodes of its popular college basketball show, Inside College Basketball, branded A-10 Tip-Off, which will air prior to selected conference games. CBS Sports Network will showcase three A-10 doubleheaders on Jan. 23, Jan. 27 and Feb. 27.

### continued ###

NBCSN’s A-10 schedule will feature 33 games, of which 29 are conference matchups or postseason games. There are 21 regular season conference games, plus the Atlantic 10 Championship Second Round and Quarterfinals (eight games). Every NBCSN Atlantic 10 broadcast conference game will be part of a double, triple or quadruple-header. The network opens its Atlantic 10 slate with a tripleheader on Dec. 30. All A-10 games on NBCSN will also be streamed on NBCSports.com and the NBC Sports app.

This marks the fifth year of the long-term television agreement between the A-10 and ESPN, CBS Sports Network and NBCSN. Atlantic 10 institutions reside in states that comprise 33.3 million television households, approximately 30 percent of the total national media market. There are nine A-10 institutions in or adjacent to the top 25 media markets in the country.
Additional regional and local television coverage will be announced at a later date.

### Atlantic 10 ###

About the Atlantic 10 Conference
The Atlantic 10 Conference was founded in 1975 and consists of 14 diverse members across eight states and Washington, D.C. The mission of the Atlantic 10 is to provide an enhanced student-athlete experience through 21 nationally competitive championship sports. The basketball-centric conference is committed to integrity, educational excellence and providing quality equitable championship experiences for its student-athletes, coaches, and support staff. The membership consists of Davidson College, the University of Dayton, Duquesne University, Fordham University, George Mason University, The George Washington University, La Salle University, the University of Massachusetts, the University of Rhode Island, University of Richmond, St. Bonaventure University, Saint Joseph’s University, Saint Louis University and Virginia Commonwealth University. For more information, visit www.atlantic10.com.

Download 30.38 Kb.

Share with your friends:

The database is protected by copyright ©ininet.org 2020
send message

    Main page