Apricot plenary session keynotes (Room 208/209)

Download 10.89 Kb.
Size10.89 Kb.
Programme for APRICOT Policy Track (APPLe meeting)
Included in the full conference fee paid for by APRICOT attendees, and S$50 for non-APRICOT attendees interested only in attending APPLe/ APRICOT Policy Track
9.00 am to 10.00 am APRICOT PLENARY SESSION KEYNOTES (Room 208/209)
Mr Leong Keng Thai, Director General of the Telecommunication Authority of Singapore, “The International Charging Arrangements for Internet Services study within APEC”
Ms Esther Dyson, Chair of ICANN, “Update on ICANN”
10.00- 10.30 Q&A
10.30- 11.00 coffee break

The Internet industry and International Infrastructure issues

(Room 201)

11.00- 12.30 ISP roundtable session “How can the APEC study on International Internet financing benefit ISPs in this region”

The Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Ministerial Meeting in June 1998, adopted a resolution to study the International Charging Arrangements for Internet Services, and if and when appropriate to adopt solutions. Singapore was the proposing economy and has initiated the launch of this study by offering to pay for the initial part of the study. The Request for Proposals was released and a consortium of consultants has been chosen to lay out the issues. This is an issue that lies at the heart of ISPs bottom line, and is not new to them. Yet, how can APEC’s involvement affect them or even benefit them and some of the fundamentals of this problem, will be some of the issues explored in this roundtable session.
Co-Chairs- Ms Valerie D’Costa, Head of International Affairs of TAS and Vice-Chair of APEC Telecom Working Group

Ms Laina Raveendran Greene, Chair of APPLe and Managing Director of GetIT Pte Ltd (former Secretary General and Policy Advisor of the Asia & Pacific Internet Association)

Mr Kenneth Cukier, EMap

Mr Sam Paltridge, OECD

Mr Yoshihiro Obata, KDD
Roundtable Panelists:
Dr Jin Ho Hur, Director, APIA

Dr Mohamed b. Awang-Lah, MIMOS

Mr Geoff Houston, Telstra

Mr Robert Collet, Teleglobe

Mr Chip Barton, AT&T (TBC)

Mr John Milburn, Dacom

Mr Morragot Kulatumyotin, Internet Thailand

Mr Lim Hock Koon, Pacific Internet

Mr Vab Goel, Qwest
Lunch for APPLe attendees only in Room 208/209 sponsored by the Commercial Internet Exchange- this lunch is held to enable discussions from earlier sessions to continue over lunch.
Lunch speaker- Ms Barbara Dooley, President and Executive Director of the Commercial Internet Exchange

2.00- 3.30 Dialogue on Intellectual Property Rights issues in general and its impact on the Internet industry (Room 201)

This session will be discuss issues such as ISP liability for copyrights, how does caching fit within Intellectual Property laws, how does the new WIPO Convention influence the internet industry, how does trademarks law apply to domain names, what are the WIPO Panel of experts recommendations to ICANN, etc.

Co-Chairs: Ms Laina Raveendran Greene, Managing Director, GetIT Pte Ltd, Chair of APPLE and member of WIPO Panel of Experts

Mr Rajesh Sreenivasan, Rajah &Tan

Mr Mah Swee Keong, Legal Counsel, Pacific Internet

Mr Eric Lee, Legal Counsel, Commercial Internet Exchange

Dr Liu, Professor of Law, Taiwan

3.30-4.00 coffee break
4.00- 5.30 pm Dialogue on content regulations in general and its impact on the Internet industry
This session will cover issues such as censorship laws, spamming, privacy, etc. It will explore how are other countries dealing with content censorship, are their carrier liability risks involved in these regulatory trends that ISPs should be aware of, and are there any global or regional trends in general that the Internet industry should generally, be aware of, etc.
Co-Chairs: Dr Ang Peng Hwa, Dean of the School of Communications, Nanyang Technological University

Ms Ling Pek Ling, Director, Singapore Broadcasting Authority

Mr Chip Barton, AT&T (TBC)

Mr Harry Tan, Nanyang Technological University

Mr Eric Lee, Legal Counsel, Commercial Internet Exchange

Mr Pavan Duggal, Cyberlaw consultant, India

Download 10.89 Kb.

Share with your friends:

The database is protected by copyright ©ininet.org 2022
send message

    Main page