Atlanta Motor Speedway's Friday Night Drags Presented by acdelco & ji parts Express Week 7 Results Saturday, August 2 2008 a big thank you

Download 12.92 Kb.
Size12.92 Kb.
Atlanta Motor Speedway's Friday Night Drags
Presented by ACDelco & JI Parts Express Week 7 Results
Saturday, August 2 2008

A BIG THANK YOU is in order to Randy Patterson, Anthony Bivins, Kevin Scott, and Kelly Branegan & Eric Huhn/AMS team for all of their help at the 8/1/08 JI Hospitality Night! Although a small crew to handle all of those customers, I don't think it could have turned out any better. Also, thanks to Bobby Dickson, Alex Horn, Jamie Boxerman, Kay Mitchell and the rest of the JI associates that came out to support us! Thanks again.

Look at the JI Parts Express Kodak Photo Gallery of the night!

Kevin Scott's Race Car pic/our hospitality area on 8/1/08
Atlanta Motor Speedway's seventh points week of Friday Night Drags presented by ACDelco & JI Parts Express featured the return of motorcycle competition and featured four repeat winners, three from last week and the defending motorcycle champion.

Highlander Evans of Decatur successfully defended his motorcycle win from Friday Night Drags first motorcycle event on July 11. Motorcycle racing, a fan favorite at Atlanta Motor Speedway, will return to Friday Night Drags on August 22.

In addition, three other class winners repeated their success from a week ago. In the ATV class, Covington's David Brand claimed his second-consecutive victory. Dwayne Bethune extended his points lead in the truck division with another victory, while street outlaw winner John Bonner continued inched closer to Danny Lowry's lead and now rests three points behind, with 12 points to Lowry's 15.

Points will be awarded each night during the 10-week season in every class except the ACDelco Domestic and Tuner. Each division winner will take home three points, second-place two points and the rest of the participants will be awarded one point. The competitor with the most points at the end of the season wins the championship title on August 22. In the event of a tie, the competitor with the most wins will be awarded the title.

Below is a complete list of the August 1 winners:

Pro: Frank Taylor (Gray) in a 1993 Chevrolet Lumina

Pro Four: Mike Chambers (Griffin) in a 1957 Volkswagen Bug

Charter Communications Street Outlaw: John Bonner (Molena) in a 1986 Toyota Pickup Truck

Pep Boys Auto Sportsman: Joey Stone (Forest Park) in a 1977 Chevy Luv

Trucks: Dwayne Bethune (Covington) in a 2006 Dodge 2500

Domestic Advanced: Adam West in a 1977 Chevrolet Nova

ATV: David Brand (Covington)

ACDelco Domestic: Raymond Morgan (McDonough) in a 1981 Chevrolet Corvette

Tuners: Allen Payne (Marietta) in a 1994 Honda Del Sol

Motorcycle (Street): Highlander Evans (Decatur) on a 2005 Suzuki 1000

Motorcycle (Cruiser/Dirt bike): Michael Sisemore (Griffin) on a 2006 Honda

The Show N' Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars.  Below is a complete list of the August 1 winners: 

Showroom Current (1973 through current): Bob Fossett (Zebulon) in a 1986 Pontiac Grand Prix

Runner-up: Scott Nelson (McDonough) in a 2007 Shelby GT

Third-place: Matthew Cose (Alpharetta) in a Ford Mustang GT Sherrod

Showroom Classic (1972 and prior): Billy Poore (Locust Grove) in a 1951 Victoria

Runner-up: Kenny Harwell (Concord) in a Pontiac Lemons

Third-place: Carol & Bret Looker (Stockbridge) in a 1961 Chevrolet Impala

Tuner (all sport compact vehicles): Scooter Johnson (Senoia) in a 2007 Mitsubishi Spider Eclipse

Runner-up: Doug Dickson (Locust Grove) in a Mitsubishi Eclipse

Third-place: Clark Morris (Hampton) in a Toyota Celica GT

Current Custom (1973 through current: Patricia Hayes (Hampton) in a 2003 Ford Mustang GT

Runner-up: Joy Jones (Jackson) in a 2008 Mustang GT

Third-place: Reba Smith (Williamson) in a Ford Mustang

Classic Custom (1972 and prior): Phil Hibbs (Loganville) in a 1963 Chevrolet Corvette

Runner-up: Keith Liles (Stockbridge) in a 1969 Chevrolet Camaro Z28

Third-place: Ken Thaxton (Fayetteville) in a 1966 Chevrolet Nova SS

Motorcycle: Mark Miller (Senoia)

Runner-up: Earl Reed (McDonough) on a Harley Davidson Street Glide

Third-place: William Ferguson (McDonough) on a Harley Davidson 1200

President's Award (chosen by AMS president Ed Clark): Robert Keck (Locust Grove) in a 1977 Ford Bronco   

Atlanta Motor Speedway's Friday Night Drags presented by ACDelco is held every Friday night through August 22. Gates open at 6:30 p.m. and nightly drag race eliminations start around 9:00 p.m.  Entry for drag racing or the Show N' Shine is $20, spectator tickets are $7 for adults and children under six are free.                 


More information can be found at or

Download 12.92 Kb.

Share with your friends:

The database is protected by copyright © 2023
send message

    Main page