For immediate release the police celebrate their 30th anniversary with the release of the police

Download 9.54 Kb.
Size9.54 Kb.




The Band's First Double-Disc CD Collection of Greatest Hits and Fan Favorites
The Police celebrate the 30th anniversary of their recording debut with their first double- disc CD "Best of" collection entitled, The Police (A&M/UMe), released June 5, 2007 in the United States and June 11, 2007 internationally. The 28 songs bring together the biggest hits from the band's five original studio albums and includes their very first single, 1977's "Fall Out."
From that rarity to one of the most-remembered and most performed rock ballads of the ‘80s, 1983's "Every Breath You Take," The Police spans the group's six-year journey from sweaty clubs to sold-out stadiums - establishing them as one of the definitive and most popular rock groups in the world.
Playing with the raw energy of a punk band, the improvisational instincts of a jazz trio, and the infectious spirit of reggae, singer-bassist Sting, guitarist Andy Summers and drummer Stewart Copeland were indisputably the most adventurous ambassadors of the genre then known as New Wave. Following "Fall Out," The Police released their debut album Outlandos d'Amour in 1978. The first single, "Roxanne" reached the Top 40 and the album, featuring "So Lonely," "Next To You,"

"Hole In My Life," "Truth Hits Everybody" and "Can't Stand Losing You," was Top 30 in the U.S. (Top 10 U.K.).

In 1979, Reggatta de Blanc was released and hit #1 in the U.K., as did the single "Message In A Bottle." In America, the Grammy-winning album featuring "Walking On The Moon," "Bring On The Night" and the Grammy-winning title track also reached Top 30.
Zenyatta Mondatta proved to be the band's U.S. breakthrough. Released in 1980, the album hit the US Top 10 (#1 U.K.) with two Top 10 singles including the Grammy-winning track

"Don't Stand So Close To Me" and "De Do Do Do, De Da Da Da," both of which were UK chart topping singles. Also featured on The Police are "Driven To Tears," "Canary In A Coalmine" and "Voices Inside My Head."

The triple platinum Ghost In The Machine was released in 1981 and peaked at #2 on the U.S. charts (#1 U.K.) with "Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic" reaching the #3 position (#1 UK) and "Spirits In The Material World," at #11. The Police adds the album's "Invisible Sun" (#2 UK) and "Demolition Man" to its collection.
A year later, The Police returned with the eight times platinum, Synchronicity, which reached #1 everywhere, spending a phenomenal 17 weeks atop the U.S charts. The lead single "Every Breath You Take" was #1 for eight weeks & reached Gold status, while Sting won Song of the Year and The Police won Best Pop Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal at the Grammy Awards of 1984 for "Every Breath You Take". "Wrapped Around Your Finger" and "King Of Pain" also

charted Top 10 and "Synchronicity II" hit Top 20... The Police also includes the Synchronicity album’s "Walking In Your Footsteps," "Tea In The Sahara" and "Murder By Numbers."

Now, 30 years after the group's first recording--and as the band announced opening the Grammys--"We are The Police, and we are back!"
Disc One
1 Fall Out
2 Can’t Stand Losing You

3 Next To You

4 Roxanne
5 Truth Hits Everybody
6 Hole In My Life
7 So Lonely
8 Message In a Bottle

9 Reggatta De Blanc

10 Bring On The Night
11 Walking On The Moon
12 Don’t Stand So Close To Me
13 Driven To Tears

14 Canary In A Coalmine

Disc Two
1 De Do Do Do, De Da Da Da
2 Voices Inside My Head
3 Invisible Sun

4 Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic

5 Spirits In The Material World
6 Demolition Man
7 Every Breath You Take
8 Synchronicity I
9 Wrapped Around Your Finger
10 Walking In Your Footsteps
11 Synchronicity II
12 King Of Pain
13 Murder By Numbers

14 Tea In The Sahara - for more press materials
# # #
CONTACT: Sujata Murthy, UME 310 865 7812

Todd Nakamine, UME 310 865 7797

Download 9.54 Kb.

Share with your friends:

The database is protected by copyright © 2024
send message

    Main page