Slow club announce third album complete surrender

Download 12.87 Kb.
Size12.87 Kb.

March 24, 2014 – Sheffield, England’s Slow Club return this summer with their third album Complete Surrender, to be released in the US on July 15, 2014 via Wichita Recordings. A musical leap forward from 2011’s Paradise, Complete Surrender – produced by Colin Elliot (Richard Hawley) – is an exquisite collection of soulful, sophisticated pop songs with influences ranging from Frankie Valli and Marvin Gaye to Katy Perry and Taylor Swift. The album is now available for pre-order here:

The album opens with the wonderful melancholia of “Tears of Joy” (stream here: A sultry beat and infectious bassline provide the track’s skeleton, while Charles Watson and Rebecca Taylor’s trademark vocal interplay glides elegantly over the top, building into a chorus that perfectly foreshadows the rest of the album to come.
The title track first single builds from there, introducing a fuller sound that utilizes sweeping strings, a galloping beat and the band’s rich, soaring vocals to create a track that expertly tows the line between wonderfully nostalgic and compellingly contemporary (stream here: “Suffering Me, Suffering You” takes Slow Club’s new sound up yet another notch, opening with Taylor’s intimate yet powerful vocal before progressing into an epic powerhouse pop song, complete with brass section and unforgettable hook.
Not ones to stick to any kind of formula, Watson and Taylor pull things back for possibly the album’s most moving moment, “Number One,” on which their voices and harmonies come to the fore, floating effortlessly over a simple, chord-led piano part.
Complete Surrender is the sound of a band coming into their own to create an album brimming with confidence and skill, managing throughout to harness both the spirit of their influences and their constant desire to experiment. A full track listing and cover artwork are below.
Since forming in Sheffield in 2006, Slow Club have released two EPs, 2008’s Let’s Fall Back In Love and 2009’s Christmas, Thanks For Nothing, and two albums, 2009’s Yeah, So and 2011’s Paradise. The latter garnered praise from The New York Times, Pitchfork (“There is still a sweetness to their sound, but it's balanced out with a range of more difficult emotions and a darker tonal palette”), Rolling Stone (“These folk-punk mystics bring fairy-dusted heat in dangerous quantities”), Paste, All Music Guide, and Popmatters, among others.
Slow Club will play a one off, full band show at London’s Village Underground on May 13th and US dates will be announced soon.

Complete Surrender track listing:

  1. Tears of Joy

  2. Everything Is New

  3. Suffering You, Suffering Me

  4. Not Mine to Love

  5. The Pieces

  6. Number One

  7. The Queen’s Nose

  8. Complete Surrender

  9. Paraguay and Panama

  10. Dependable People and Things That I’m Sure Of

  11. Wanderer Wandering

Embed the “Complete Surrender” song stream widget:
Embed the “Tears of Joy” song stream widget:

For more information on Slow Club and Complete Surrender, please contact Amanda Pitts at Cobra Camanda Publicity, tel: 512.243.7693; emailer:

Download 12.87 Kb.

Share with your friends:

The database is protected by copyright © 2024
send message

    Main page