Did You Know… Year Fact 1959 Jim Haaff

Download 13.05 Kb.
Size13.05 Kb.

Did You Know…

Year Fact

1959 Jim Haaff (1957-59) posted a 7-0 record and allowed just 29 hits in 49 1/3 innings during the 1959 post-season. Haaff had 10 appearances on the mound in Post 254’s 16 tournament games.

1960 Was the first year that Post 254 wore the uniform cap with the block R…the same cap that is worn by today’s teams.

1962 Clemson’s Damon Vincent (1957-59) was selected 2nd team All-Atlantic Coast Conference.

1962 Mike Chinn (1957-1962) was selected to the all-tournament team as Kentucky Wesleyan College placed second in the NCAA Mid-East Regional.

1964 Evansville College’s Wayne Boultinghouse (1957-59) was selected the most valuable player of the Indiana Collegiate Conference. Boultinghouse also played on the Purple Aces NCAA College Division national championship basketball team that same year.

1965 Southern Illinois’ Gene Vincent (1957-1962) was named the most valuable player of the 1965 NCAA Mid-East College Division Regional.

1967 Indiana State University’s Randy Miller (1959-1964) was selected to the Indiana Collegiate Conference all-conference baseball team for the third consecutive year.

1967 Ole Miss junior Eric Ayer (1961-1965) pitched a one-hit shutout against Mississippi State, the defending Southeastern Conference champion.

1967 Mike Lutz (1963-64) posted a 6-1 record for Kentucky Wesleyan’s 1967 NCAA Mid-East Regional participant.

1969 David Erwin (1964-67) was a member of the Kentucky Wesleyan College basketball teams that won national basketball championships in 1968 and 1969.

1970 Freshman Stan Hoss (1967-68) was named Kentucky Wesleyan College’s most valuable player following the Panthers 19-5 season.

1975 The University of Evansville’s Bernie Meyer (1970-72) was selected the most valuable player of the Indiana Collegiate Conference.

1975 Scott Johnson (1972-74, shortstop), Bernie Meyer (1970-72, first base) and Jeff Wilkie (1972, centerfield) started on consecutive NCAA tournament teams (1975 and 1976) at the University of Evansville.

1976 Purdue freshman Pat Dawson (1973-75) led the Big Ten with a 1.23 earned run average.

1977 Kirk Hudson (photo at right, 1971-74) was an All-Ohio Valley Conference selection as Morehead State (KY) University won the OVC title and participated in the NCAA tournament.

Kirk Hudson
977 Greg Tooley (1973-1975) was selected All-Ohio Valley Conference after leading Murray State University in hits (48), batting average (.356), home runs (11) and RBI (46).

1984 Kentucky Wesleyan’s Jed Smith (1980-81) and Eddie Ward (1979-82) were selected All-Great Lakes Valley Conference.

1985 Chris Sigler (1079-1981) ended his career at Indiana University as the Hoosiers all-time leader in hits (226), runs (189), triples (14) and stolen bases (88). Sigler also played football for IU from 1982-1985.

1988 Ron Marchand (1982-84) was selected to the all-tournament team when Kentucky Wesleyan College played in the NCAA South Atlantic Regional in Savannah GA.

1989 Manager Bob Snyder and assistant coach Darrell Stephens guided Wabash Valley College to a 3rd place finish in the National Junior College Athletic Association World Series. The Warriors starting shortstop was Darren Lynam (1986-87).

1993 Steve Schaefer (1987-1989) finished his career at Indiana University with the second most wins (23) and innings pitched (272.1) in Hoosiers history. Schaefer’s 18 complete games ranked fourth all-time for IU.

1994 Post 254 manager Bill Evans (1957-1959, 1961-1965, 1970) was inducted into the Indiana Baseball Hall of Fame.

2000 Kevin Davis (1994-1996) was 8-2 with five saves and a 3.43 ERA for Middle Tennessee State University’s NCAA regional finalist. Davis was 4-0 with four saves and a 3.05 ERA as MTSU returned to the NCAA tournament in 2001.

2004 Jerod Young (2000) finished his career as the all-time leader in saves (22) and appearances (89) at Hanover College.

2008 Blake Monar (2005-07) was selected to the Big Ten Conference All-freshman team.

2009 Shaun Larsen (2003-05) was selected as an All-American during both of his seasons (2008 and 2009) at the University of Southern Indiana.

2010 Jeremy Kuester (2002-05), Shaun Larsen (2003-05) and Todd Martin (2004-07) were reunited at the University of Southern Indiana as the Screaming Eagles won the 2010 NCAA Division II national championship. Kuester (on right in photo) and Larsen (on left in photo) were coaches while Martin (center, holding national championship trophy) was named to the NCAA Division II National Championship Series all-tournament team. The trio played on Post 254’s 2005 team that posted a 36-3 record and finished the season as the Great Lakes Regional runner-up.

James'>Photo courtesy of Donna Martin
010 Nathan James (2006-07) posted a 19-3 career won-lost record at Heidelburg (OH) University. James was 8-2 as Heidelburg advanced to the NCAA Division III Baseball Championship Series in 2010. He was the starting and winning pitcher in the championship game of the Mid-East Regional and then picked up another win, over the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point, in the National Championships. James finished the 2011 season with a 7-1 record and a 2.38 ERA after winning the opening game of the Mid-East Regional.

2010 Wabash Valley College’s Michael Mosby (2006-08) was selected as the most valuable player of the Great Rivers Athletic Conference.

2012 Jim Haaff, Rockport manager from 1966-1969 and 1971to the present, was inducted into the Indiana Baseball Hall of Fame.

Damon Vincent Chris Sigler Ron Marchand

Dave Watkins

Owensboro KY Post 9

Download 13.05 Kb.

Share with your friends:

The database is protected by copyright ©ininet.org 2023
send message

    Main page