Future addition: an extended example of play, including



Download 21.96 Kb.
Date06.08.2017
Size21.96 Kb.
Blitz! A World in Conflict Errata

Last updated: January 21, 2016
Future addition: an extended example of play, including a comprehensive control example and a thorough retreat example for land.
Q: Regarding 1.3 and the section that allows another major power on your side to enter into a land area you control: does it mean they have to be at war with exactly the same enemy major powers (other than the AFA and USA, who are not restricted in each other's territory)?
A: Yes it does mean that.
Q. If the answer is yes, with rerefence to the example what does happen to the AFA unit in Persia when Japan goes to war with AFA (since now AFA is at war with both Germany and Japan while USSR is only at war with Germany)?
A. Nothing. As long as the conditions were met when you moved in, that's what matters. However, if the conditions are no longer true, then additional units would not be able to move in and your unit could potentially become "stuck" if you are not careful.
Q: Regarding 1.5 (when a sea area is friendly) does an air unit suffice to guarantee that an area is friendly despite the presence of enemy BB/CV/SUB?
A. Yes. (This differs from parent game World in Flames.)
Q: Regarding 3.4, (Conquest and Liberation, the section about what you can build for units of a conquered country), does it mean that I can upgrade a Small unit from size 1 to size 2 or a Big unit from 3 to 4, but I cannot upgrade a small size 2 to a Big size 3?
A. Correct.
Q: I have a sequencing question that I can't see addressed. Say that both players, A and B, have multiple units in a combat round and both inflict 2 losses on the other. I understand that for player A's losses, player B chooses the first and player A chooses the second. Likewise, player A chooses the first of player B's losses and player B the second. But, who suffers losses first, player A or B? The second to last paragraph of the first column of page 4 (full rules, section 6.5) suggests that these are simultaneous, but choices for one sides losses may influence choices for the other sides losses.
A. It's a good, technical question, which the rules don't specify. I think you'll find that the "loss priorities" as far as which units to knock off will become clear after a few games, such that everyone pretty much knows which losses you will apply to your own units, and which losses the other side will apply to your units. That said, I am happy to make a ruling that the phasing side's losses should be determined first in those cases where players feel that this matters.
Q: 7.8, Spend your Resources, it is not clear whether you can only choose the A-Bomb via the New Weapons Development mechanism (“When you select the A-Bomb to add to your Force Pool”) or you can pick it up also via random selection using the Researching Weapons mechanism.
A. Potentially either. You can pick an A-Bomb as your natural selection if you are in the relevant Group. And you could get the A-Bomb added by using the Researching Weapons method of adding extra units.
Q: For Scenario C, Does convoy damage reduce build points? I assume no, since the scenario has special rules for building stuff.
A. No, not for this scenario. (In the full war and scenarios E & F, yes Convoy damage will reduce production.) My reasoning here (from bitter experience as the AFA) is that if the AFA takes losses from Convoys, then the AFA will have to spend *more* on the BOA. The net result is the same (or more) Resources spent on the BOA -- but big losses to other parts of the war. In this scenario, that means Victory Points for Germany.
Q: For Scenario C, Do any of the powers have oil the first round for a blitz?
A. No they don't. The set-ups would specify if they did.
Q: For Scenario C, Are convoy damage removed at the end of each turn like in the full game?
A. Yes.
Q: For Scenario C, For the US/AFA victory condition, do the lend-lease units need to be in their named sea areas or can they just be "at sea" anywhere to get the point?
A. They must be in their named sea areas to count towards a VP.
Q: For Scenario C, The second way for the Western allies to get victory points require them to clear all sea areas of axis units. After turn 7 when Italy is conquered, can the Italian fleet still float around in the Med. indefinitely (or use Libya for rebasing)?
A. Yes, whatever is left of the Italian Navy can still be used by Germany even after Italy is conquered.
Q: Can a naval air in Norway move to the Artic ocean?
A. Yes, Norway touches the Arctic Ocean directly, and thus a 2 movement air unit could fly from Norway to the Arctic Ocean (for example, Luftflotte 2.)
Q: Do the LL units also need to be able to trace a supply line to it's home country for the allies to get a VP for them? In my game the axis were in control of the North Sea and the allies sneaked through their blockade to the Artic sea.[/q]
A. Good question about the LL units. For Scenario C, the Battle of the Atlantic, NO, they do not need to be able to trace a supply line. This is because the concept of a supply line is not introduced until Scenario D (see D.3). However, when you play the full game, you will need to be able to trace a supply line (see 7.4) in order to deliver lend lease successfully.
Q: Regarding the special rule about the Maginot Line being attacked through Belgium, I'm not entirely sure what "defensive Land Factors" means. Is the following accurate?

a. Treat the ground strength as zero.

b. Ignore the red triangles.

c. The unit must still be eliminated normally for any attacker to advance into Paris.

d. You still apply the FORT size bonus to ARM when determining if advance is allowed.

Does this sound right?


A. Happy to clarify for this unique unit.

a. No, this is not correct. The Maginot Line unit always gets to fire back with its Land Factors.

b. Yes, attacking Germans ignore the Maginot's red triangles if any attacking land units attack from somewhere other than Western Germany.

c. Yes, you still have to destroy the Maginot Line unit in order for Germany to take control of Paris.

d. Yes, you still apply the FORT size bonus for the Maginot Line, even if its red triangles are not able to be used.
Q: Warning: the following is very pedantic!

On Page 25/26 we have "Additionally, during a Ground Attack there are the following limits .... * Your side's total modified Land Factors from your air and naval units supporting a Ground Attack can't exceed your side's total modified Land Factors from your land units (see 6.2)"

Then on page 27, in 6.2, there is "The combined, modified Land Factors of all your supporting air and naval units can't exceed the combined, modified Land Factors of all your side's land units. Ignore any excess."

While these two sections seem to say the same thing, there is a subtle difference. The first section is described in the context of what may be involved in a combat (section 5) while the second is how to resolve a combat (section 6). Specifically, if one's supporting air/naval land factors cannot exceed the land factors from land units, then those excess units would not allowed to be involved at all since there is no rule for partially excluding a unit from combat. Since the rule says the unit's factors cannot exceed a particular threshold, and there is no rule about partially committing a unit, the only way to meet the mandate is to not use those units. Section 6's rule is irrelevant under this interpretation since the condition could never occur. Importantly, it would also mean that those excluded units would not be involved in the associated Air Round. Also, since air factors rarely come in ones, you might not even be able to match your factors from land units (e.g. I attack with 1 land factor from a ground unit and 5 factors from a single air unit, the air unit would be excluded from participating at all). My guess is that this is not the intended reading of the rule in section 5.3. I suspect that bullet point in section 5.3 ought to be absent entirely in a minimalist description of the rules (section 6.2's rule is adequate) and the rule as written should be treated as helpful commentary instead of a narrowly read rule. Is my suspicion correct?


A. Correct: you can commit as much as you like, but when computing final Land Factors, then the limitation applies.
Q. Are an AA unit's Air Factors involved in Ground Attacks and/or Port Attacks or only Factory Attacks?
A. AA units will contribute their Air Factors to any combat in their land area.
Q. Regarding 6.5 and 6.6 in the rules: I am defending. I get a letter result. After calculations 4 units cannot advance. I as the defender pick all 4 attacking units that will not advance?"
A. Correct.
Q. Regarding 6.5 and 6.6 in the rules: I am the attacker. I will pick all units that retreat? The owner picks where they retreat to?
A. Correct. The relevant rule is: "During a Land Round, when determining which units must retreat, or which cannot advance, your opponent with the most total Land Factors in the battle selects all of the units to be affected."
Q. Advances and retreats are nothing at all like taking damage where players alternate which units are effected?"
A. In a Land Round, the other side picks all letter results. However, in an Air or Naval Round (see 6.5), you do alternate selections, exactly like you do when assigning damage.
Q. Are Norway and Leningrad adjacent? Are Hollandia aand Leyte Gulf adjacent? Are Chungking and South-East Asia adjacent?
A. No to all 3.
Q. When is Neutral Entry added up? Is it only done at the end of the turn during 5.B.?
A. No, all neutral entry effects are applied to the USA and USSR "It's War!" markers immediately when the effect takes place, even in the middle of another phase during the turn.

Download 21.96 Kb.

Share with your friends:




The database is protected by copyright ©ininet.org 2020
send message

    Main page